Site officiel Filitosa | Architectures
15955
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-15955,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled, vertical_menu_transparency vertical_menu_transparency_on,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-9.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.4.3,vc_responsive

Architectures

Filitosa represents the visible apogee of the Corsican megalithic art

As symbols of the adventure, the construction of monumental complexes whose aims are yet to be determined. Simple watchtowers, wealth storage rooms with dark alcoves, seat of power or meeting room for particular events, shelter of a prominent figure of the community, or place of shamanism of ancestral beliefs, these monuments still challenge us today.

Some fragments of broken statue-menhirs were used as construction material to build those monuments around 1200 B.C. After the anthropomorphic statuary art, enthusiasts of megalithic art chose other cultural or religious practices that are expressed through the building of large circular monuments, the “torre”. These turriform constructions are at the root of the “Turrichju” designation given to the site.

Astonishing monumental complexes

Filitosa has two of those, in the centre and on the Western side, filled on the East by a platform for the surveillance of the main entrance. Boundary walls made out of large stones, called cyclopean, surround the site. The grouped housings of the Bronze Age are thus called “Castelli”. If the boundary walls are certainly defensive, the primary purpose of the “torre” is not military. The layout of the rooms, corridors, cubbyholes is not governed by a military logic.

Could the complexity of the internal arrangement be intentional, destined to hide the proceedings of some funeral or initiation rite? The presence of a fired clay area located in the centre of the central monument’s unique room weighs in favour of this hypothesis. Ritual fires were lit, as reflected by the presence of ashes. The “torre” is a fire temple, however, we do not know the purpose of these fires. Are they linked to initiation rites, deaths, natural events, or divinities?

The Corsican “torre”, the Sardinian “nuraghi”, Balearic “talayots”, are all part of a large Mediterranean architectural family, who use the cupola in the construction of circular monuments. The covering of the “torre” is no longer made of straw or wood, but instead made of a false vault of corbelled stones, that funnel around the top.

The Torrean monuments of Filitosa were not only a refuge or a place of worship; they were also used as warehouses for food supplies or weapons, or as an observation site.

Site officiel Filitosa | Architectures
16665
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-16665,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled, vertical_menu_transparency vertical_menu_transparency_on,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-9.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.4.3,vc_responsive

Architectures

Filitosa représente l’apogée encore visible du mégalithisme en Corse

Symboles de cette aventure, la construction de complexes monumentaux dont la finalité reste encore à définir. Simples tours de gaie, pièces de stockage de richesses aux obscurs diverticules, lieux de pouvoir ou de réunion pour une circonstance particulière, abris d’un personnage éminent de la communauté, ou lieu de chamanisme aux croyances ancestrales, ces monuments interpellent encore aujourd’hui.

Certains fragments de statues-menhirs brisées furent réemployés comme matériaux de construction de ces monuments aux alentours de 1200 av. J.-C. Après l’art statuaire anthropomorphe, les adeptes du mégalithisme ont choisi d’autres pratiques culturelles ou religieuses qui se manifestent par l’édification des vastes monuments circulaires, les « torre ». Ces constructions turriformes sont à l’origine de l’appellation de « Turrichju » donnée au site.

Des complexes monumentaux qui ne cessent d’étonner

Filitosa en compte deux, au centre et à l’ouest, complétés à l’est par une plate-forme de surveillance de l’entrée principale. Une enceinte en gros appareil, dite cyclopéenne, enserre le site. Les habitats groupés de l’Age du Bronze sont ainsi appelés « Castelli ». Si l’enceinte est assurément défensive, la finalité première des « torre » n’est pas militaire. La distribution des chambres, des couloirs, des réduits n’obéit guère à une logique militaire.

Cette complexité dans l’agencement intérieur ne serait-elle pas volontaire, destinée à cacher le déroulement de certains rites funéraires ou d’initiation ? La présence d’une aire en argile cuite située au centre de la pièce unique du monument central joue en faveur de cette hypothèse. Des feux rituels y étaient allumés, les cendres recueillies en témoignent. Si la « torre » est un temple du feu, on ne sait pas la finalité de ces feux. Sont-ils liés à des rites initiatiques, à la mort, à un élément naturel, ou à une divinité ?

Les « torre » corses, les « nuraghi » sardes, les « talayots » des Baléares, font partie d’une grande famille architecturale méditerranéenne, qui utilise la coupole dans la construction des monuments circulaires. La couverture de la « torre » n’est plus de paille ou de bois, mais faite d’une fausse voûte constituée d’anneaux de pierre en encorbellement, qui vont se rétrécissant vers le haut.

Les monuments torréens de Filitosa ne sont pas seulement un refuge ou un lieu de culte, ils servent probablement aussi d’entrepôt pour les réserves alimentaires ou de dépôt d’armes, ou de lieu d’observation.